Thanksgiving Note from Jim A

Hello Friends and Family!

 In my last missive I told everyone that no news from me meant good news – so my silence is good news and I am at home.  I have been visiting the Dr. regularly to have my heart biopsies, and they are adjusting my medicines accordingly to prevent any rejection of the new heart.  So far everything is going well and I really am feeling stronger.  I’m getting out and about a little more each day, and my daily walks with Sue are getting me further and further into the neighborhood.  My goal of returning to work in January is right on track at the moment, and I intend to keep it that way!

Sue and I are enjoying the downtime together, and it’s been really nice to spend a little afternoon time with the girls after school each day.  Might seem like a little thing, but the additional time with the family has really helped me feel better. 

 

For those of you that made it to the party/benefit at CYC on the 5th, thanks for making it such a great success.  I’ve heard from many of you with reports of a great time, and my Skype appearance gave me a chance to see a great crowd assembled.  Thanks again to our Have a Heart for Stretch Organizing Committee for putting together such a great evening.  It was a nice opportunity to connect with friends and I only wish I could have been there in person with you.  I guess that means we’ll just have to arrange another party!

 As Thanksgiving approaches, I wanted to take a moment to tell you all how thankful I am for all of your support for our family this year!  As I have mentioned before, it has been an extremely challenging 5 months for us, but we have realized many blessings along the way.  For that we are all very thankful!

 We hope you all have an opportunity to enjoy the holiday with family and friends, and can relish the blessings you have all shared over this year too.  Wishing you all the best!

 

Jim and Sue

Ashley, Meggie, and Jilly 

P.S.  There’s a new article about the use of the HeartWare Bi-vad pumps in my heart failure situation as a bridge to the heart transplant on the Northwestern Memorial Website.  Made the Home page!  Meggie says I’m now famous, but for all the wrong reasons!  Cute, isn’t she…..  go to www.nmh.org  Article is right there in the center.  It’s a nice synopsis of the medical treatment I received.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

